Superintendent's Message

Alondra and Jackson Middle Schools Receive National Recognition!

Schools to Watch (STW) is a recognition program, similar to California Distin­guished Schools, that recognizes middle schools that are academically excellent, socially equitable and have a culture of strong collaborative leadership. It is a highly selective process and few middle schools are given the Schools to Watch award. This year, only eleven schools in the state received STW recognition.

This year two of Paramount Unified School District’s Middle Schools--Alondra and Leona Jackson-- submitted applications to be considered for the State’s Schools to Watch – Taking Center Stage recognition. As the result of the high quality middle grades education they provide students, both Alondra and Leona Jackson Middle Schools have been awarded the recognition of being national exemplary middle schools. They are two of only 11 schools in California to receive this award and PUSD is one of only two school districts in the entire state to have more than one middle school recognized this year!

In February principals and teams from both Alondra and Leona Jackson Middle School presented their work to educators from throughout the state at the California League of Schools Conference in Sacramento. Both schools will host visitors from throughout the state who will visit to learn about their work and practices.

Herman M. Mendez

Educational Networks
Powered by Edlio